Sharing My World – Growing Up and Age

The Share Your World –  writing challenge is brought to us each week by Cee via her Photography Blog. It consists of 4 questions she makes to get to know each other in the blogsphere.

These are this weeks’s questions:

For your blog do you basically use Windows or Mac, laptop, desktop, pad, or phone?

Macbook Air.

As a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?

I wanted to have a music band with 12 songs in my album. Then, around 10 years old, an uncle’s girlfriend instilled in me the interest of studying hospitality & hotel management because she taught me how to fold napkins like swans and I decided I wanted to work in the ice hotel in Finland.

I also wanted to be a dancer, and finally in High School, I decided I wanted to work in the film industry (as an editor or director of photography).

I did study film but I became none of those things.

Did you grow up in a small or big town? Did you like it?

mexico city view
The view from my old apartment in Mexico City.

BIG. I grew up in Mexico City, which has about 8.8 million people in technical Mexico City, and about 21 million people in the Greater Mexico City, which includes a metropolitan area surrounding D.F.

I did like it. I loved it. The only things that I didn’t like so much were the traffic and the pollution, but overall it was a great place to grow up and I still enjoy visiting.

How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?

If I woke up with amnesia and I didn’t know my age, my guess would depend if I looked at myself in the mirror or not. If I did, then I would think I’m 15-18 years old even though I’m about to turn a quarter of a century old. I have always looked younger than my actual age, and I know people are just being nice, but I’m getting tired of the words “you will love it when you’re older”. I haven’t liked looking younger because it makes many people underestimate me and not take me seriously, and I’m also getting tired of getting carded all the time. Plus, I don’t need to look young, I’m already happily married and my husband is older than me by quite a few years.

If I did not look myself in the mirror I’d go for 30-35 years old. Even this silky quiz agrees with me. I consider myself more mature than my actual age, I guess getting married young adds to that. I have no interest in going out and getting wasted anymore, I rather go watch a movie and have a glass of wine. But I’m still up for adventure and I would hop on a plane to explore a new country on a budget without hesitation, just give me a week’s notice hehe. I also still love Pixar movies, I wonder how old do you have to be to stop enjoying those? I bet there isn’t a limit.

I’m curious, how old would you think you are if you didn’t know? And what did you get in the quiz?
 
10 thoughts on “Sharing My World – Growing Up and Age

  1. Ok, I said I was 42…even though I am 37. The quiz gave me… 42! I took a screen shot to add to my post, but I can’t link back here until tomorrow! 😀

Share Your Thoughts

