What To Eat During A Post-Op 7 Day Liquid Diet

liquiddietcollage

On August, I went through oral surgery which required me to be on a liquid diet for 7 days following the surgery.

Thanks to my dad’s birthday gift of the nutribullet, it was quite an easy task and even a fun one because I had to get creative in order to provide myself with proper nutrition.

I lived off smoothies for 7 days. I had 2 or 3 smoothies a day and soup. I couldn’t just have fruit smoothies or milkshakes, I had to think of ways to create good tasting and nutritionally balanced smoothies.

I came up with some pretty darn healthy, creative, filling, and tasty smoothies.

7 Day Liquid Diet Menu:

DAY 1 – Day of Surgery

We came back home around 2pm after the surgery and I had a smoothie and then slept for a long time.

Cacao-ulator Smoothie which I took from the nutribullet recipe book. It wasn’t the best tasting smoothie, maybe because I used kale instead of spinach, not sure.

DAY 2

morning:

Smoothie – 1 cup spinach, 7 frozen strawberries, half frozen banana, 1/4 avocado, 2 tbsps greek yogurt, almond milk, water, flaxseed, cinnamon, and turmeric.

mid-day:

The Hulk of Peanut Butter Banana Smoothies

hulk peanutbutterbanana smoothie1

dinner:

Soup: cream of cheese broccoli & potato

DAY 3

morning:

Mango & Rice Milk Smoothie With Sneaky Romaine

mango smoothie2

mid-day:

The Hulk of Peanut Butter Banana Smoothies

dinner:

Soup: cream of cheese broccoli & potato

dessert:

Pineapple + Coconut Fruit Ice, which I got in my LOVE WITH FOOD August box.

DAY 4

morning:

Strawberry Basil Smoothie

mid-day:

Cantaloupe Turmeric Smoothie

cantaloupe smoothie5

dinner:

Don’t remember.

dessert:

Mango greek yogurt and Talenti gelato

DAY 5

morning:

Green Smoothie – spinach, kale, broccoli, carrot, cantaloupe, strawberries, almonds, oats, turmeric, ginger, almond milk, honey, and banana.

green smoothie

Black tea

mid-day:

Half of Progresso Clam Chowder, I added turmeric powder and blended until creamy to get rid of the chunky bits.

dinner:

The Hulk of Peanut Butter Banana Smoothies

DAY 6

morning:

Green Mango Lassi 2.0 – This smoothie and I added 1/2 cup green grapes, half chopped carrot, 4-5 mint leaves, 1/2 celery stalk, and 1/4 tsp maca powder.

mid-day:

Coconut Avocado Green Smoothie

coconut avocado green smoothie3

dinner:

Homemade cream of broccoli & pea soup

DAY 7

morning:

Green Grape Green Smoothie

green grape smoothie

mid-day:

Carrot Strawberry & Ginger Smoothie

dinner:

Homemade cream of broccoli & pea soup

 

Although I definitely craved some solids foods, the diet turned out pretty good. I felt good and was kept full and satisfied for several hours with those smoothies. On the 8th day I broke my liquid diet with a fried egg atop a piece of toast. It was heavenly.

Have you ever needed to be on a liquid diet?
Share Your Thoughts

