Top 5 Places I Want To Visit

'Peeking Through', Argentina, El Chalten, Mt. Fitzroy
‘Peeking Through’, Argentina, El Chalten, Mt. Fitzroy by Chris Ford

I have no idea when I caught the travel bug, I may have been born with it, so I am constantly fantasizing about traveling. I look up flights and airbnb places for trips I won’t be doing. I have a travel tumblr in which I curate travel eye candy for all them 9000+ wanderlusters that follow it, and I often wish I was somewhere else, not because I am unhappy where I am but just because I love traveling and visiting new places and even returning to old places that I love. I love airports and the way they make me feel, it’s a strange thing.

So, of course I would like to see so, so many places, but I’ve narrowed it to just 5 in this whole wide world for this post. Here they are:

1. Venice, Italy

Venice, Italy by Lee Cannon

I don’t think I have to explain why I want to go to Venice as it is one the most magical places in the world. Given my love for Italy, I just know how much I would love Venice. It would be the perfect spot for the honeymoon we never had.

2. New Zealand/Australia

Havelock North, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Havelock North, Hawke’s Bay, New Zealand by Sandy Austin

I know these are two complete different countries and maybe they shouldn’t count as one but my reasons for both are the same.

These countries are so far away yet they don’t seem too different to America (like Asia is). One of the reasons I really want to go is because I’ve never met an Australian or New Zealander I didn’t like, quite the opposite; I feel like they are a pretty laid-back bunch overall and I love that. I also know there is a ton of natural beauty there that I would love to immerse myself in.

3. Alaska

Mendenhall Glacier - Alaska
Mendenhall Glacier – Alaska by Barbara

I’ve heard that there is no place like Alaska. You can imagine how it would be but once you see it, it creates such a powerful feeling; the natural vastness, the way of living… It really peaks my curiosity.

4. Patagonia, Chile/Argentina

Ushuaia harbor at night
Ushuaia harbor at night, Tierra del Fuego by Damien Roué

I have never visited my Hispanic neighbors in South America, and though there are many places I’d like to visit, Patagonia is in the top. Patagonia is a region comprised of both Chilean and Argentinian territories including a big part of the Andes, deserts, and both the Pacific and Atlantic Oceans on the coasts. I’d specifically love to visit Tierra del Fuego, the southernmost tip of South America. Once again, the natural vast beauty int his area is something I’d like to experience.

5. Tokyo, Japan

Sakura season in Tokyo
Sakura season in Tokyo by Patrick Shyu

I have an interest in Japan. I like the people and I love the food. I would love, love to experience some authentic, underground, Japanese food, and I would love to go during Sakura season. I can just feel how happy inside the pink colored rows of trees would make me feel. I’d like to submerge myself in local culture, tea ceremonies, markets, and temples.

I am always in the mood for traveling (caught the travel bug long time ago and can’t seem to be cured), but after writing this and looking at tons of stunning images of these places I’m really in the mood for traveling.

What are your top 5 places you want to visit?

Related: Top 5 Places I Have Been To

20 thoughts on “Top 5 Places I Want To Visit

  1. I too would place Patagonia/Chile/Argentina on my list as well as Tokyo. Having been to NZ/Australia I would say they are also ‘must see’ destinations. I’d like to visit Canada’s northern regions to see the northern lights and glaciers, etc. Venice is probably a must see but I personally found it disappointing – it’s very touristy and very crowded. I feel I need to visit India at some point in my lifetime also. Hard to pick just 5 isn’t it!

  2. Great list! Have visited Venice, Tokyo and Argentina, but unfortunately didn’t make it to Patagonia. 😦 I’ve been feeling a real calling to visit Japan again lately, not sure why – but this time we’ll head to Kyoto, Osaka and Kobe. 🙂

  3. It’s crazy to see that you named so many countries I’d like to visit as well. I’m especially talking of Australia / New Zealand and the South American ones, but Tokyo is also on my bucket list. Thanks for the nice photos that make me look forward to visiting these places even more 🙂

  4. Hard to choose five, but… Mexico, the Amalfi coast in Italy, a journey through the national parks of the US, India, and anywhere to see the Northern Lights! Pinterest, bless it, is helping to fuel the fire.

  5. I was born also with the travel bug! I would love Oaxaca, Japan, Praga and Budapest! recently I was in Shanghai and I had these ancient, magic and special tea ceremonys and I felt so happy!

  6. OHHH….so many…..Actually a lot in Mexico..places.like San Miguel and Guanajuato. Greece (cannot BELIEVE I have never been there! ) Australia, Cuba……I have a huge long list, but these are a few that come to mind…

      1. OHHHH….yes….add Oaxaca to my list too……also….I had a friend tell me about some fab train ride through copper canyon…that would be nice too! 🙂

Share Your Thoughts

