Keeping Portland Weird

oregon brew fest portland38
Darth Vader wearing a kilt riding a unicycle.

You may or may not have heard Portland, Oregon’s motto, slogan, tagline, whatever you wanna call it: “Keep Portland Weird.” Portland is known for its weirdness, which has been exposed by the Portlandia show, but Portlanders love it and embrace it.

I was known to be pretty weird when I was younger, very often described as “random.” Random was and probably is one of my characteristics. I seem to say and do things that people consider random. I can attest to the fact that Portland is random and weird, and I love it.

Below you will find a series of photos that I have collected since I got here over a year ago that give you just a glimpse of Portland’s slogan.

bite of oregon portland
These two guys from Oregon Potatoes where happy to get some attention at their booth. (It seems they weren’t as popular as the other booths).
label gmo food car portland
That is a “fishy apple” (you can’t see its fishtail), for labeling GMO foods. “Are we eating fishy food?” It was especially funny to see it drive away.
tattoo salt and straw portland
The tattoo from the cashier at the local Salt & Straw ice cream shop.
portland st johns
An old gas station turned into a diner.
portland st johns dogs
A unique character in the street.
portland st johns dog
A man walks his Husky dog and his kid in a backpack in cold weather.
portland micro houses colorful
Micro houses.
portland brewbike5
The brewbike taking drunk people around a brewery tour in Portland.
barista coffee portland5
A pink trolley.
portland division tea house art
The art at a teahouse.
portland barbershop16
The sign outside a barbershop.
portland division coffee art
The outdoor art sign of a coffee shop.
portland barbershop7
The hair products inside the barbershop.
portland barbershop5
And the complimentary drinks inside the barbershop.
Shirtless guy getting free ice cream. Why not?
Shirtless guy getting free ice cream.
oregon brew fest portland35
The line to voodoo doughnuts.
Elvis setting up.
Elvis setting up to play.
oregon brew fest portland1
Guys wearing beer hats.
The Zombie truck. "Zombies don't like fast food"
The Zombie truck. “Zombies don’t like fast food”
Yes it is.
A quinceañera by the waterfront.
portland saturday market4
A security guy arresting Jack Sparrow or Johnny Depp?
batmobile
The Batmobile.
portland saturday market2
Free chalk for people to use.
portland saturday market
Tin man.
cityfair portland17
Hairdos.
Cute metal statues in Portland, Oregon
Happy metal statues.
boys fort portland
Superheroes for sale at a shop downtown.
portland waterfront2
Eating their own poop.

But I think the prize goes to Darth Vader wearing a kilt, riding a unicycle and playing a bagpipe:

oregon brew fest portland39

And these are just things I have personally seen, I can’t imagine all the weird things that go on around.

What is the weirdest thing you’ve seen in your town?

Update: I just found out that unicycle Darth Vader guy shoots flames from his bagpipe. True story.

12 thoughts on “Keeping Portland Weird

  1. This is great – I just discovered your blog and love it!
    FYI the kilt/unicycle guy actually shoots flames from his bagpipe (no kidding). Just when you thought it couldn’t get any weirder. 🙂

      1. Totally serious! He’s a Portland institution and I’ve seen a video of him riding the unicycle with flames shooting up in all directions. Hilariously, weirdly Portland!

  2. Haha, I love this! I think the Brewbike is my favourite- that’s a genius idea. I’m actually pleasantly surprised by how much some of these random oddities remind me of Winnipeg- I guess I might have to do a post of my own! 😀
    Btw, my favourite weird thing in Winnipeg is a busker who appears regularly in Osborne, wearing a horse mask and playing an accordion!

Share Your Thoughts

