Savory Food Around The World

veritable quandary portland brunch

I love food. There I said it. My weekly small pleasures often involve food, and I think about food like all the time. I am for sure guilty of getting hangry and often getting mad at the internet for making me hungry and crave things I can’t get. I just realized I may be causing this for other people with this post. I apologize.

Food gives me pleasure and sometimes even suffering from craving it. I wish I was desireless, because that is the key to happiness, but food makes it real hard for me to atain desirelessness. Anyway, below are lots of yummy savory foods from across my travels, enjoy!

victoria bc canada16

This is one of the best fish and chips I’ve ever had. At Victoria, BC. As you can see I opted for the grilled version rather than fried.

astoria oregon16

Fresh salmon salad with walnuts, blue cheese and cranberries in Astoria, Oregon. In the background: some oyster shooters. The Pacific Northwest is the best for getting seafood.

Lunch on the patio, right outside the dining hall.

This was one of my lunches at the MPR (Meher Pilgrim Retreat), in India. Chutney and egg salad sanwiches, fresh veggies, rice and dal, corn salad and papad

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here I am in Berlin, Germany eating local bratwurst. Had to do it, right?

mercado de jamaica mexico food3

Grilled corn on the cob, at the market in Mexico City.

dominos pizza india

This was our attempt to eat something western in India. Domino’s pizza in rural India!

verdecocinafood

This dish (veggies and carne asada) at Verde Cocina was the absolutely perfect meal to have after a long hike in the snow in Oregon.

acapulco mexico beach16

Fresh mango with chili and lime, and fresh coconut water. Two wonderful things you can find by the beach in Acapulco, Mexico. I guess this is both sweet and savory.

afternoon tea empress hotel victoria bc8

Our wonderful afternoon tea sandwiches at the Fairmont Empress Hotel in Victoria, BC. (Smoked Salmon with Dill Cream Cheese, Roasted Honey Ham with Tarragon Dijonnaise, Free Range Egg Salad Croissant, Cucumber & Ginger Mascarpone on Butter Brioche, and Moroccan Spiced Coronation Chicken on Marble Rye)

chapatis rotis

Above was our cook in India making fresh chapatis! (the Indian tortilla) There are made with very fine flour of semi-hard wheat varieties such as durum.

chapati roti

Here is one almost ready.

Fueling for Red Cross training.

A post shared by Mani (@manigv) on

This was our breakfast in Pendleton, Oregon. Quiche, salad, and bread.

victoria bc canada3

We couldn’t visit Canada and not order poutine: french fries, topped with a gravy-like sauce and cheese curds.

tomato tasting farmers market durham nc5

At the farmers market in Durham, North Carolina we greatly enjoyed the fresh summer tomato tasting.

indian food

At the 1000 Oaks restaurant in Pune, where I had delicious spicy fish tikka, rice, and garlic naan.

Indian street food at the Bollywood Theater restaurant, Portland, OR

Indian street food at the Bollywood Theater restaurant in Portland, OR: Beets: roasted with coconut milk and curry leaves; Pav Bhaji: a mixture of potatoes, vegetables, tomato and spices, served with buttered rolls; Paratha: layered Indian flatbread with ghee; a Thali meal, and mango lassi.

My first turkey. (2011)

This was my very first roasted turkey I made all by myself. (2011)

2012christmas turkey

And this was my second one. 🙂 A year later and at a different house.

italy rome food

Here I am in one of my favorite places: Italy, having ravioli in Rome. 

tacos mexico

Real Mexican food in Mexico City. Tacos al pastor, chicharron de queso (crispy cheese log), and guacamole

long beach 06792

This meal above was our breakfast at our B&B in Long Beach, Washington. 

veritable quandary portland brunch

And this is my very favorite place for brunch in Portland, OR; the Veritable Quandary. Pictured is my veggie benedict and mimosa, and in the background wine and blackened catfish benedict.

saffron rice mattar paneer

While in India, I tried my hand at cooking authentic Indian food. Here I made mattar paneer and saffron rice.

I am sure I made you hungry now. I’m sorry, again. And I have to ask, which of these foods do you want to have now?

14 thoughts on “Savory Food Around The World

  1. U made me really really hungry… Thank god m not already licking my phone 😉… Eagerly waiting for some paneer tikka masala n garlic naan tht I will be having for lunch.. 😊

Share Your Thoughts

