The Many Beds I Have Slept In Around The World Since 2008

durham house room bed

A LOT has happened in my life since 2008: in no particular order, I lived in four different countries, got married, was homeless, adopted two cats, walked inside the Concorde, baked a pie from scratch, backpacked around Europe, started learning a new language, danced ballet at a major University, became a smoothie master, rode a scooter around India, made two short films, did aerial tricks by hanging on silk fabric, volunteered at a film festival, plus more.

So naturally, I have slept in many different beds and weirdly, I have pictures of a lot of them. Who knew those pictures would one day turn into a blog post and be shared with the world.

You can see my journey through beds. Travel by bed! Ready? Go!

Place of origin: Mexico City. Hometown. (missing a picture)

Off to backpack through Europe.

europe train bed

Berlin to Stockholm, July 2008. Sleeper train.

train to moscow bed

St. Petersburg to Moscow, July 2008. Overnight train.

Digital Camera

MPR, Ahmednagar, India. July 2008.

london bed

London, UK. September 2008 – May 2009. My first time living abroad.

Back to Mexico City, June-Aug 2009 (no pic), and then off to the USA.

Caravelle oceanfront foreclosed efficiency in Myrtle Beach, SC. (not my picture)

Foreclosed oceanfront efficiency in Myrtle Beach, SC. My husband and I lived here for about 6 months until we got kicked out. (not my picture, and not the same room, but very similar) photo source

sc bed1

Myrtle Beach. July 2010. About 1-2 month stay. Friend’s home.

ft myers fl bed

Delray Beach, Florida. August 2010. Inflatable mattress of an acquaintance.

Then, we hopped in the car and drove from Florida to New Hampshire stopping in many places. We spent many nights sleeping in our silver Toyota Camry, and quite a few motels in places including: somewhere in Tennessee, Baltimore, Long Island, and finally a two-month stay in Laconia, New Hampshire.

Our loyal Toyota Camry. Various states in the USA. Aug- Nov 2010. The only picture I could find of it, when we got rear-ended.

Our loyal Toyota Camry. Various states in the USA. Sept- Nov 2010. The only picture I could find of it, when we got rear-ended.

Eventually, we drove back down to the Carolinas.

sc bed

Myrtle Beach, SC. October 2010. Friend’s home for a few weeks.

duke manor durham bed

Durham, NC. November 2010. Our first rental apartment together. One-year lease.

mumbai bed

Mumbai, India. November 2010. I took a 10 day trip to India and missed my flight back to the US. I ended up sleeping in this “bed” for a night.

duke manor durham bed1

Durham, NC. 2011. The same apartment from two pictures ago, now with furniture and a real mattress.

belmont durham bed

Durham, NC. Nov 2011. Upgrade! We moved to a better apartment and stayed for a 9-month lease.

durham house room bed

Durham, NC. July 2012. Upgrade again! We moved from an apartment to a two bedroom house with two kitties! 1-year lease.

On July 2013, We moved to India.

mumbai airbnb bed

Mumbai, India. Our first India stop. 1 week stay. (not my picture: source)

Ahmednagar, India, July 2013. Our first rented home in India.

Ahmednagar, India. July 2013. Our home in India for 3 months.

We went back to the USA to renew our Indian visas.

Portland, Oregon. September 2013. Our Airbnb room, the "Paris room"

Portland, Oregon. September 2013. Our Airbnb room, the “Paris room” (currently been here for about 3 months.)

seattle airbnb bed

Seattle, Washington. October 2013. Weekend trip. (source)

My favorite was our 3rd year in Durham with our kitties. Nicest place we’ve ever lived in.

“What’s up with all the scarfs and sweaters on top of the lamps?” you ask. We just like dimmed light, and that is how we weirdly achieve it.

 

12 thoughts on “The Many Beds I Have Slept In Around The World Since 2008

  1. I’m new here, but definitely excited to take a look around. I’m impressed with your pictures. It’s a creative way to remember, and tell your story. I can actually understand to the scarves on the lamps. When I want dim light, I usually light a candle, but I have also used scarves on lamps before.
    Well, nice to meet you. 🙂
    And don’t mind me, you might receive a lot of comments from me, on other blog posts. I love reading about other people’s adventures and especially reflecting or giving feedback.
    Take care. 🙂

  2. I’m struck by how much your white kitty looks like my Vex! Very interesting way to share, I agree, and also I’m from South Carolina and now in India so of course I’m interested to see that part! 😉

Share Your Thoughts